Friday Night Leftovers #3

  • I realized this week I only have five weeks left on my maternity leave – back to work April 1st.  The prospect leaves me frightened, sad, dismayed, and a little excited.
  • Five weeks before work means 2 1/2 weeks before our family trip to Palm Springs, San Diego, & Los Angeles.  Travelling with a dog and two infants – what were we thinking???
  • The boys are going through another transition period.  They are using their swings a lot less and spending more time on their playmat.  They have started batting at hanging toys and grabbing my shirt.  Grabbing toys is next, I’m sure!
  • Both boys have also discovered Boomer.  Boomer’s still not sure what to think of them, especially now they’re spending so much time on ‘his’ floor.
  • We’re starting to transition the boys to their own cribs.  So far, just daytime naps are in separate cribs.  Nighttime separation to come soon!
  • They are continuing to sleep really well.  They have two great daytime naps (go down between 9am and 10am for 1 to 2 hours or sometimes more, then go down between 12pm and 2pm for 1 to 2 hours or sometimes more), plus a ‘sometimes’ shorter late afternoon nap.  At night they go 10 to 12 hours, with just one feed break in the early morning hours.  We are soooo lucky, and I thank Dr. Marc Weissbluth for all our success!  At this moment, they are in hour 3 of a super afternoon nap!
  • Speaking of Dr. Weissbluth, I got his Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Twins book.  It makes a great compliment to Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child, which I already have.
  • My husband has been working at a different location all week, quite a long commute away.  He keeps missing the boys – they are often in bed before they are home.  He is looking forward to being on parental leave and spending more time with them!
  • With my husband working so far away, he has been unable to leave me the car and take transit it.  This means Griffin & Dakota missed their normal bi-weekly weigh-in.  I have no idea how much they weigh, and can’t wait until their mid-March doctor’s appointment to find out! They really seem to be growing, I’m going to have to pull out the 3-6 month clothes for Griffin soon.
  • I mailed in two agility trial premiums this week – Boomer and I are back to competing!  We’ll start slow with just a couple of morning runs, but I can’t wait!  March 13th and 14th are our first days back.
  • Agility class was cancelled this week due to extremely cold temperatures (class is in a covered outdoor barn).  Boomer and I really missed our night out together.

That’s all for now!  Danifred has some more leftovers ready for you here!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Friday Night Leftovers #3

  1. Popping in from FNL.

    Your boys are soooo cute! I hope you enjoy the rest of your maternity leave. That vacation sounds pretty nice 🙂 Sounds like I may have to get some tips from you on the baby sleeping. I’m due in a few weeks, and I’m terrified this baby will be like my DD, who was a horrible sleeper!

  2. I just adore those books! Seriously, I don’t think I could have survived the first two years without them. Enjoy every moment of the time you have left for maternity leave 🙂 I think you should get double since you had twins!!!

Leave a Reply

